You Need To Avoid Consuming These 5 Gluten-Filled Foods


Sometimes, a gluten-free diet is a choice, whereas for some individuals is an absolute necessity. The inability of the body to digest and to break down the gluten protein found in wheat and other grains is called gluten intolerance.
Regardless of the reasons for this diet, the adapting process of eliminating the wheat from your diet can be overwhelming and frustrating. However, even the process of identifying foods can be irritating, don’t stress.
Below there are more gluten-free information and plus a list of 5 foods that you need to avoid if you are on a gluten-free diet, courtesy of

Understanding gluten and the people at risk

The gluten is the general term referred to the proteins found in wheat, barley, rye, and triticale- a cross between wheat and rye. It acts like a glue and helps foods maintain their shape, holding them together.
Did you know that actually the celiac disease affects around three million Americans and about 95% of celiacs go undiagnosed?
The symptoms of celiac disease can appear at any point, but for adults, the most common is the range of the 20s and 40s.

Celiac disease in children

This disease for children can be a cause of an imbalance of vitamins and minerals.

It is very serious since their bodies might not absorb important nutrients that they need for growing.

Celiac disease symptoms


The most common signals of the celiac disease are digestive issues such as: bloating, gas, and diarrhea. Also, fatigue, low blood count, osteoporosis, malnutrition delayed puberty and pain in the abdomen, weight loss and skin rash are included in the list of symptoms.
However, there are people that are gluten intolerant but not show any of the signs.

The top 5 gluten-filled foods to eliminate

1. Grains

At the top of the list of foods you should avoid are the following three grains, wheat, barley and rye. Also, the foods that contain grains, like cookies, bagels, pasta, bread, cakes and cereals
However, you should be more careful with identifying the grain content in buns, doughnuts, rye, pies, pancake mixes, dumplings, wheat germ, pita, rolls, bread crumbs, croutons and biscuits.
Instead, it is recommended to consume grains like corn and rice.

Grains that contain gluten


 Gluten-free grains


2. Processed meats

According to celiac disease (Sprue) studies, also, you shouldn’t consume processed meat like bologna, sausages, pepperoni, salami, hot dogs and cold cuts. Instead, your diet should include unprocessed turkey or chicken.
Sprue is rated as a debilitating type of arthritis, which comes with digestive signals due to excessive gluten consumption.The processed meat products most commonly contain high levels of cancer-causing preservatives.

3. Sweets and treats

Unfortunately, there is bad news for all those who are fans of all the sweets. Most of the sweet products contain gluten. Those include all chocolate, ice- cream, root beer, commercial cake frosting, candies containing cereal extract, sherbets and so on.

However, you shouldn’t worry that much because there are plenty gluten-free substitutes nowadays that can be as tasty as the originals. Gluten-free brownies, cakes, waffles are just some of them.
But, always make sure that you check the labels and read the ingredients before buying something sweet.

4. Seasonings and condiments


A great number of seasonings and common condiments contain gluten and they can cause problems for all those that are gluten-intolerant.

You should avoid condiments like: soy sauce, barley malt and malt products, as well as MSG, and Worcestershire sauce.

5. Alcoholic beverages

As surprising as it might sound, did you know that almost all the alcohol is made from grains?

The beer and malted beverages are some of which are on the top of the list. However, there are alternatives beverages like gin, potato vodka, whiskey, rum and tequila. But, be aware of the alcohol consumption because the alcohol not only slows down the healing process but also causes other health problems.

Healthy eating tips to prevent gluten intolerance side effects


1. Beware that gluten-free foods may come into contact with gluten-containing foods and cause cross-contamination

Because of this you should possess backup tools for gluten-free foods in order to avoid cross-contamination

2. Some of the gluten-free labeled products contain gluten

Research has shown that over 40% of processed items with gluten-free labels contain significant amounts of gluten, which can trigger reactions among gluten-intolerant individuals.

3. Consumption of alcoholic beverages

Even though it is recommended a cautious consumption of grain-based liquor like gin, distinct vodkas, and whiskey you could still experience reactive responses to grain-based drinks. And, as we mentioned before, it can really slow down the healing process or cause other health issues.


Even though being on a gluten-free diet can be overwhelming, it really is easier than you think. Especially because your health depends on it. Follow the guide above and never just assume that a product is gluten-free.

Nowadays, there is sufficient number of foods that are gluten-free, but anyhow, you should always be aware when making the choice and read the ingredients carefully.

* This information is meant to supplement, not replace advice from your doctor or health care provider and is not meant to cover all possible uses, precautions, interactions or adverse effects. This information may not fit your specific health circumstances.
From: organics

To Top